Each fall semester, a majority of the law school’s second year students participate in Appellate Advocacy (commonly called “Moot Court”) as an elective, attending lectures on appellate skills and participating in a series of practice oral arguments. The course in the fall culminates in the law school’s annual Intraschool Moot Court Competition, in which the students participate in appellate arguments which are judged and critiqued by dozens of local attorneys and judges who volunteer their time. Students who continue Appellate Advocacy in the spring semester focus their attention on appellate brief writing. The top students each year are selected to participate in the law school's annual Neumiller Competition, the final round of the law school’s Moot Court Competition, which takes place each year during the UC Davis Picnic Day celebration.

Meet the 2016-2017 Moot Court Honors Board!

Posted By Collin Chandler, Sep 2, 2016

Meet the UC Davis, King Hall 2016-2017 Moot Court Honors Board. Like our distinguished predecessors, the Board is comprised of third-year law students who completed both semesters of the Appellate Advocacy course, competed in King Hall’s intracollegiate Neumiller Moot Court competition, and participated in various intercollegiate competitions. The Board is also responsible for setting up the annual Neumiller competition, as well organizing and hosting our own national competition, the Asylum and Refugee Law Competition. Additionally the Board competes in both regional and national intercollegiate moot court competitions, and provides general assistance to King Hall’s Appellate Advocacy program. For more details on the individual members and Board roles, please visit the Board Members and Chair Descriptions pages. 

The rest of Meet the 2016-2017 Moot Court Honors Board!

47th Annual Neumiller Competition

Posted By Oscar Orozco-Botello, Apr 11, 2016

Congratulations to Sharlene Koonce and Holly Snead for winning the 47th Annual Neumiller Competition! The winners argued against Isaac Walrath and William Foster, both of which had similalry outstanding performances. The competitors addressed issues of qualified immunity, excessive force, and expert witnesses before the following distinguished judges:

The Honorable Consuelo M. Callahan, United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
The Honorable Goodwin Liu, Supreme Court of California
The Honorable William J. Murray, Jr., California Third District Court of Appeal
The Honorable Louis R. Mauro, California Third District Court of Appeal

The rest of 47th Annual Neumiller Competition

9th Annual UC Davis Asylum & Refugee Law National Moot Court Competition

Posted By Oscar Orozco-Botello, Mar 15, 2016

On March 12 and 13, 2016, the Moot Court Honors Board at UC Davis School of Law hosted the 9th Annual UC Davis Asylum & Refugee Law National Moot Court Competition.  The competition is the only one in the nation devoted exclusively to the area of asylum and refugee law, and the premier immigration law moot court competition on the West Coast.

The rest of 9th Annual UC Davis Asylum & Refugee Law National Moot Court Competition