Environmental Law Society Logo

2011 ELS Symposium Schedule

Event Schedule

10:00-10:10 am Opening Remarks

10:10-11:45 am Panel 1: Litigation arising from the BP Oil Spill Moderator: Jordan Browning 

  • Jackie Lopez (Center for Biological Diversity)
  • James Pierce (Department of Conservation)
  • Denny Takahashi-Kelso (Ocean Conservancy)
  • Albert Lin (UC Davis)

11:45-12:00 pm Break

12:00-1:00 pm Lunch and Keynote: Richard Lazarus (Executive Director of the National Commission on the BP Oil Spill)

1:00-1:15 pm Break

1:15-2:55 pm Panel 2: Federal and State Adjustments to Assess Oil Drilling Disasters Moderator: Miles Hogan 

  • Curtis Fossum (State Lands Commission)
  • Michael Mills (Stoel Rives LLP)
  • Steve Sawyer (Department of Fish and Game)
  • Leila Monroe (Natural Resources Defense Council)
  • Bradley R. O'Brien (United States Department of Justice)

2:55-3:10 pm Break

3:10-4:40 pm Panel 3: The Future of Energy Policy Moderator: Parissa Ebrahimzadeh 

  • John McKinsey (Stoel Rives LLP)
  • Rick Frank (UC Davis)
  • David Smyser (Western States Petroleum Association)
  • Tim Olson (California Energy Commission)

5:00-7:00 pm Reception